Virat Kohli Named Captain Of ICC’s Team Of World T20 Tournament


The ICC today announced the teams of the tournament and Virat Kohli has named captain of the ICC team of the Tournament announce on 4 April.


The ICC announced the teams of men’s as well as women’s that were chosen by the former cricket stars, Virat Kohli and Ashish Nehra was the only player of India included in the team although four cricket player were chosen from the England team and two player from the West Indies team.

Jasoy Roy and Quinton de Kock will be the opener of the playing XI while the middle order Batsman who selected from different teams is: Virat Kohli, Joe Root, and Jos Buttler the allrounders Andre Russell and Shane Watson included in the team.

The bowling squad of the team is Mitchell Santner, David Willey, Samuel Badree and Nehra while the only player from Bangladesh Mustafizur Rahman is included as the 12 man.

ICC said in a media release on Monday 4 April, “The teams were chosen by a select group of former cricket stars and highly respected commentators who were given the task of picking a balanced side for all conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections,”

South African wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock batsman ended his four matches with 153 runs mean while Kohli the star player of the tournament ICC world cup T20 proved the highest run-getter who played five matches of the tournament with 273 runs.

The average of the run getter is around 135.5 which is a huge average score though his performance ICC team selector made him the captain of their team. The England player Root played a very offensive inning; he played 249 runs in six matches.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here